Skip Navigation

College of Communication & Creative Arts - Communication Studies

Rowan University

News and Anouncements (Updated: May 30, 2013):


Dr. Joy Cypher has been elected Chair of the Department of Communication Studies. Dr. Cypher's three-year term will begin July 1, 2013. She is replacing Dr. Ed Streb, who will return to the classroom full time.


New Department Requirements

Effective September 1, 2012 students admitted to the Communication Studies major must follow a new set of requirements. Rhetorical Criticism is now a required "core course" for all majors. Additionally, the number of hours of "related electives" has dropped from 9 to 6. The list of related electives has now ben eliminated, and students must select their two related elective courses with the approval of their advisor.

Students who began as CMS majors prior to September 1st (including the entering freshmen class) may choose to follow the old requirements list or the new one.