Foreign Languages and Literatures
bullet Second biennial ScholarFest to celebrate Rowan research | More

bullet Rowan hosts talk on “Controlling Ebola Virus Outbreaks: A New Strategy to Block Virus Transmission and Spread” | More

bullet ‘Networking With Style’: Barefoot Cellars founders to discuss their road to wine-selling success during South Jersey Soiree | More

bullet Rowan science student will attend STEM conference in Jamaica | More

bullet Speakers to offer insights, inspiration during Disability Awareness Week at Rowan | More

The Compass: The Newsletter of the College of Humanities & Social Sciences
To download past issues of CHSS newsletters, please visit our publications section.

Faculty and Staff

Rowan University has a diverse and international faculty, all of whom hold a Ph.D. and have earned recognition for their teaching and published work. The faculty is active in Spanish, French, Italian and German professional and community organizations. Majors and Minors receive a considerable amount of individual attention and faculty advisement which is only possible in a small department where faculty members care about student progress. The faculty listed below are active and are currently teaching this semester.

Faculty

Dr. Laurie Kaplis-Hohwald ('94) Read Biography / View Web Site
Chairperson
Associate Professor
B.A., Queens College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
856-256-4500 x3470
hohwald@rowan.edu

Dr. Roberto R. Madero ('01) View Web Site
Associate Professor
License d'Histoire, Paris VII
M.A., Ph.D., Princeton University
856-256-4500 x3469
madero@rowan.edu

Dr. Marilyn S. Manley ('04) Read Biography / View Web Site
Associate Professor
B.A., Boston University
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
856-256-4500 x3466
manley@rowan.edu

Esther Mas Serna ('13)
Instructor of Spanish, Applied Spanish
Placement and Spanish Sequence Coordinator
B.A., Escuela de Turismo de Murcia, Spain
B.A., Rowan University
M.A., Centro de Lenguas Modernas, Universidad de Granada
856-256-4500 x3467
mas@rowan.edu

Dr. Edward C. Smith III ('92) Read Biography
Associate Professor
B.A., Rutgers University
M.Phil., New York University
Ph.D., New York University
856-256-4500 x3472
smithe@rowan.edu

Dr. Sonia B. Spencer ('90)
Associate Professor
B.A., Hunter College
M.A., Pennsylvania State University
Ph.D., Duke University
Bunce Hall 307
856-256-4044
spencers@rowan.edu

Spanish Adjunct Instructors:

Lynda Clark
856-256-4500 x3232
clarkl@rowan.edu

Maria Cruz
856-256-4500 x3232
cruz@rowan.edu

Galina Graulau
856-256-4500 x3232
graulau@rowan.edu

Margaret McMonigle-Caprara
856-256-4500 x3232
mcmonigle-caprara@rowan.edu


Abner Mendoza
856-256-4500 x3232
mendoza@rowan.edu

Cathy Moncrief
856-256-4500 x3232
moncrief@rowan.edu

Jeffrey Munsick
856-256-4500 x3232
munsick@rowan.edu

Katiria Ortiz
856-256-4500 x3232
ortizk@rowan.edu

Lorena Santos-Quiñones
856-256-4500 x3465
santos-quinones@rowan.edu

French Adjunct Instructors:

Karen Breen-Davis
856-256-4500 x3232
breen-davis@rowan.edu

Janet Fishman
856-256-4500 x3232
fishman@rowan.edu

Margaret McMonigle-Caprara
856-256-4500 x3232
mcmonigle-caprara@rowan.edu

Arabic Adjunct Instructor:

Hanan Abouelsaadate
856-256-4500 x3232
abouelsaadate@rowan.edu

Chinese Adjunct Instructors:

Ai Guo Han
856-256-4326
han@rowan.edu

Feyan Xiao
856-256-4500 x3232
feyanx7@students.rowan.edu


German Adjunct Instructors:

Kipp Matalucci
856-256-4500 x3232
mataluccik@rowan.edu

Jesse Orlando
856-256-4500 x3232
orlandoj@rowan.edu


Italian Adjunct Instructors:

Joseph Poma
856-256-4500 x3232
poma@rowan.edu

Annalisa Russo
856-256-4500 x3232
russo@rowan.edu

Japanese Adjunct Instructors:

Chie Matsumura Dusk
856-256-4500 x3232
dusk@rowan.edu

Hiroko Ishikawa
856-256-4500 x3232
ishikawa@rowan.edu


Latin Adjunct Instructor:

Kristen Masters
856-256-4500 x3232
masters@rowan.edu


Department Secretary:

Kathleen M. Taddei
856-256-4071
taddei@rowan.edu

Language Lab Supervisor:

Elaine Brigandi
856-256-4072
brigandi@rowan.edu