Foreign Languages and Literatures
bullet CSMRU faculty member elected to lead National Disaster Life Support Education Consortium | More

bullet Exploring academics, enhancing social skills: Young Profs Exploration Camp to host 16 students | More

bullet Summer, sun and… snakes? | More

bullet WGLS-FM announces five inductees to station Hall of Fame | More

bullet Rowan hosts Attracting Women into Engineering for middle school girls | More

The Compass: The Newsletter of the College of Humanities & Social Sciences
To download past issues of CHSS newsletters, please visit our publications section.

Faculty and Staff

Rowan University has a diverse and international faculty, all of whom hold a Ph.D. and have earned recognition for their teaching and published work. The faculty is active in Spanish, French, Italian and German professional and community organizations. Majors and Minors receive a considerable amount of individual attention and faculty advisement which is only possible in a small department where faculty members care about student progress. The faculty listed below are active and are currently teaching this semester.

Faculty

Dr. Laurie Kaplis-Hohwald ('94) Read Biography / View Web Site
Chairperson
Associate Professor
B.A., Queens College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
856-256-4500 x3470
hohwald@rowan.edu

Dr. Roberto R. Madero ('01) View Web Site
Associate Professor
License d'Histoire, Paris VII
M.A., Ph.D., Princeton University
856-256-4500 x3469
madero@rowan.edu

Dr. Marilyn S. Manley ('04) Read Biography / View Web Site
Associate Professor
B.A., Boston University
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
856-256-4500 x3466
manley@rowan.edu

Esther Mas Serna ('13)
Instructor of Spanish, Applied Spanish
Placement and Spanish Sequence Coordinator
B.A., Escuela de Turismo de Murcia, Spain
B.A., Rowan University
M.A., Centro de Lenguas Modernas, Universidad de Granada
856-256-4500 x3467
mas@rowan.edu

Dr. Edward C. Smith III ('92) Read Biography
Associate Professor
B.A., Rutgers University
M.Phil., New York University
Ph.D., New York University
856-256-4500 x3472
smithe@rowan.edu

Dr. Sonia B. Spencer ('90)
Associate Professor
B.A., Hunter College
M.A., Pennsylvania State University
Ph.D., Duke University
Bunce Hall 307
856-256-4044
spencers@rowan.edu

Spanish Adjunct Instructors:

José Almanza
856-256-4500 x3232
almanzaj@rowan.edu

Lynda Clark
856-256-4500 x3232, 2
clarkl@rowan.edu

Nubia Guldin
856-256-4500 x3232
guldin@rowan.edu

Abner Mendoza
856-256-4500 x3232
mendoza@rowan.edu

Lorena Santos-Quiñones
856-256-4500 x3465
santos-quinones@rowan.edu

French Adjunct Instructors:

Karen Breen-Davis
856-256-4500x3232
breen-davis@rowan.edu

Janet Fishman
856-256-4500 x3232, 3
fishman@rowan.edu

Margaret McMonigle-Caprara
856-256-4500 x3232
mcmonigle-caprara@rowan.edu

Arabic Adjunct Instructor:

Hanan Abouelsaadate
856-256-4500 x3232, 1
abouelsaadate@rowan.edu

Chinese Adjunct Instructor:

Ai Guo Han
856-256-4326
han@rowan.edu


Italian Adjunct Instructors:

Joseph Poma
856-256-4500 x3232
poma@rowan.edu

Annalisa Russo
856-256-4500 x3232, 5
russo@rowan.edu

Japanese Adjunct Instructors:

Chie Matsumura Dusk
856-256-4500 x3232
dusk@rowan.edu


Latin Adjunct Instructor:

Kristen Masters
856-256-4500 x3232, 4
masters@rowan.edu


Department Secretary:

Kathleen M. Taddei
856-256-4071
taddei@rowan.edu

Language Lab Supervisor:

Elaine Brigandi
856-256-4072
brigandi@rowan.edu