Foreign Languages and Literatures
bullet At Rowan Graduate Commencement: Levine to speak to graduates; Bartolozzi to receive honorary degree | More

bullet Rowan partners with the Philadelphia Science Festival to bring science education to the public | More

bullet Rowan Commencement ceremonies moved to Coach Richard Wackar Stadium | More

bullet CCCA Showcase a focus on talent, achievement | More

bullet Rowan Engineers Without Borders works with elementary school students on engineering-related projects | More

CLASnotes - Winter 2005
The latest version of CHSS notes is available for download in the newsletters section.

Faculty and Staff

Rowan University has a diverse and international faculty, all of whom hold a Ph.D. and have earned recognition for their teaching and published work. The faculty is active in Spanish, French, Italian and German professional and community organizations. Majors and Minors receive a considerable amount of individual attention and faculty advisement which is only possible in a small department where faculty members care about student progress. The faculty listed below are active and are currently teaching this semester.

Faculty

Dr. Laurie Kaplis-Hohwald ('94) Read Biography / View Web Site
Chairperson
Associate Professor
B.A., Queens College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
856-256-4500x3470
hohwald@rowan.edu

Dr. Roberto R. Madero ('01) View Web Site
Associate Professor
License d'Histoire, Paris VII
M.A., Ph.D., Princeton University
856-256-4500x3469
madero@rowan.edu

Dr. Marilyn S. Manley ('04) Read Biography / View Web Site
Associate Professor
B.A., Boston University
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
856-256-4500x3466
manley@rowan.edu

Esther Mas Serna ('13)
Instructor of Spanish, Applied Spanish
Placement and Spanish Sequence Coordinator
B.A., Escuela de Turismo de Murcia, Spain
B.A., Rowan University
M.A., Centro de Lenguas Modernas, Universidad de Granada
856-256-4500x3467
mas@rowan.edu

Dr. Edward C. Smith III ('92) Read Biography
Associate Professor
B.A., Rutgers University
M.Phil., New York University
Ph.D., New York University
856-256-4500x3472
smithe@rowan.edu

Dr. Sonia B. Spencer ('90)
Associate Professor
B.A., Hunter College
M.A., Pennsylvania State University
Ph.D., Duke University
Bunce Hall 307
856-256-4044
spencers@rowan.edu

Spanish Adjunct Instructors:

José Almanza
856-256-4500x3232
almanzaj@rowan.edu

Jennie Buoy
856-256-4500x3232
buoy@rowan.edu

Lynda Clark
856-256-4500x3232
clarkl@rowan.edu

Nubia Guldin
856-256-4500x3232
guldin@rowan.edu

Abner Mendoza
856-256-4500x3232
mendoza@rowan.edu

Lorena Santos-Quiñones
856-256-4500x3465
santos-quinones@rowan.edu

French Adjunct Instructors:

Karen Breen-Davis
856-256-4500x3232
breen-davis@rowan.edu

Janet Fishman
856-256-4500x3232
fishman@rowan.edu

Margaret McMonigle-Caprara
856-256-4500x3232
mcmonigle-caprara@rowan.edu

Hanan Abouelsaadate
856-256-4500x3232
abouelsaadate@rowan.edu

Chinese Adjunct Instructors:

Ai Guo Han
856-256-4326
han@rowan.edu

Italian Adjunct Instructors:

Joseph Poma
856-256-4500x3232
poma@rowan.edu

Annalisa Russo
856-256-4500x3232
russo@rowan.edu

Japanese Adjunct Instructor:

Chie Matsumura Dusk
856-256-4500x3232
dusk@rowan.edu

Michiko Uryu
856-256-4500x3232
uryu@rowan.edu

Latin Adjunct Instructor:

Kristen Masters
856-256-4500x3232
masters@rowan.edu


Department Secretary:

Kathleen M. Taddei
856-256-4071
taddei@rowan.edu

Language Lab Supervisor:

Elaine Brigandi
856-256-4072
brigandi@rowan.edu