Bunce Hall
Political Science & Economics
bullet Women’s ACE Net to help Rowan women “build their ladder” | More

bullet Rohrer College of Business, Kingsway school district establish partnership for future business leaders | More

bullet Rowan Family Medicine physician selected judge for Miss America Competition | More

bullet College of Education, Williamstown High School establish new academy program for aspiring teachers | More

bullet Unearthing an ancient croc | More

The Compass: The Newsletter of the College of Humanities & Social Sciences
To download past issues of CHSS newsletters, please visit our publications section.

POLITICAL SCIENCE and ECONOMICS
FACULTY and STAFF

Group


DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Natalie Reaves

Dr. Natalie D. Reaves
Assoc. Professor of Economics
856-256-5487
reaves@rowan.edu

Dr. Natalie Reaves is a southern New Jersey native, originally from Brotmanville, NJ. She attended Rutgers University-New Brunswick, the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and Wayne State University receiving B.S., M.S. and PhD degrees in Economics. Prior to coming to Rowan, she taught at the University of Michigan-Dearborn, and has worked for the Social Security Administration and the United Auto Workers (UAW) Economic Research Dept. She is a Health Economist who examines a variety of health related issues including health insurance, Medicare/Medicaid, Obamacare and the impact of medical technology on health care costs. In addition, she researches the impact of government regulation on innovation in the pharmaceutical industry. In particular, she studies how changes in patents, tax laws and other government regulations encourages/discourages firms to develop remedies for rare and neglected diseases such as Tourettes, rare cancers, Sickle Cell and Malaria. Finally, she also has interests in environmental economics, law and economics and neuroeconomics.


ECONOMICS FACULTY

Lauren Banko
Instructor of Economics
856-256-4500 ext. 3967
banko@rowan.edu

Lauren Banko is an economics instructor at Rowan University. She is a South Jersey native, but completed her undergraduate degree at Pace University (NYC campus) in economics and mathematics. Lauren received her M.A. in economics at Temple University in 2013. While there, she had taught several undergraduate courses, including microeconomics and the American Economy; a course which focused on current issues in economic settings. Her academic interests begin with sports, labor, and health economics. Lauren has coauthored a paper with Dr. Michael Leeds at Temple University, which is currently being revised for publication. The topic of this paper deals with gender differences in competitive situations. Labor issues, such as wage inequality and women in the workplace are other topics Lauren is interested in. Lastly, she has been completing research in health and has coauthored a paper for the Cochrane Group. Other current focuses are on mental health, inequality in care, and palliative care.


Ferari

Dr. Robert Ferrari
Instructor of Economics
856-256-4500 ext 3967
ferrari@rowan.edu

Robert J. Ferrari is Professor Emeritus of Financial Economics from Fordham Universitys Marymount College. Since 2009 he has been a faculty member in the Economics Program of Rowan University. Over the years, he has been an adjunct faculty member at many colleges and universities: including, among others, New York University (15 years), The United States Military Academy at West Point, and Manhattan College.

Before becoming a full time academic, he was the Senior Vice President-Finance of a New York City bank. Prior to that, he was employed by the Federal Reserve System in several capacities. And prior, he was a member of the Canadian Arbitrage Department of a New York Stock Exchange member firm. He was a principal in a Westchester (NY) based consulting group. And, has had assignments with the IBM World Trade Corporation, the General Motors Corporation, and the National Association of Mutual Savings Banks, among others. He has also been a board member and treasurer of a Westchester (NY) based real estate corporation and non profits based in New York and Pennsylvania. He has lectured, addressed, and spoken extensively on various topics in economics and financial management, and has co-authored two textbooks in economics.

He is a graduate of Villanova University, New York University, and Brown University.


Ferari

Dr. Stuti Jha
Asst. Professor of Economics
856-256-4500 ext. 3965
jha@rowan.edu

Stuti Jha graduated from the PhD program in Economics at Purdue University in August 2015. She has a masters degree in Economics from University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee. Her research interests are in labor economics, health economics and international economics. Her research focuses on physician labor market outcomes, particularly, gender wage gap among physicians and the residency match process and its effects on employment choices of physicians. She taught at Purdue University and Butler University before joining Rowan University. She has four years of industry experience in the field of policy analysis and project management.


Diane

Diane Trace
Instructor of Economics
856-256-4500 ext. 3966
trace@rowan.edu


POLITICAL SCIENCE FACULTY

Danielle

Dr. Danielle Gougon
Instructor of Political Science
856-256-4866
gougon@rowan.edu

Danielle Gougon is a professor of Political Science in the Department of Political Science and Economics at Rowan University. Dr. Gougon earned a doctoral degree in Political Science from Rutgers University, New Brunswick and a Master’s in Feminist Theory and Gender Studies from the Graduate Faculty of Political and Social Science, New School University, New York. Dr. Gougon’s specializes in women in politics, feminist theory, reproductive politics, and interest groups. Her research focuses on feminist organizations’ responses to new challenges in reproductive politics in the contemporary U.S. setting.

Prior to joining Rowan, Dr. Gougon served as the Dean of Global Academic and First Year Programs at Douglass College, the women’s college at Rutgers University, New Brunswick and was responsible for developing curriculum for women’s leadership courses and programs. Dr. Gougon also directed the Global Village, a nationally recognized living-learning community that was awarded numerous financial gifts to support its work in developing globally minded women leaders. During her tenure, Dr. Gougon launched several new houses focused on human rights, women’s leadership, women in business, and Mid-East coexistence. Dr. Gougon has also designed and led service-learning trips and has taken students to Thailand to study sex trafficking, Cambodia to study genocide, Juarez, Mexico to study globalization, and South Africa to study apartheid.


Jerome

Jerome Harris
Instructor of Political Science
harrisj@rowan.edu


Lawrence

Dr. Lawrence Markowitz
Assoc. Professor of Political Science
(856) 256-4889
markowitzl@rowan.edu

Lawrence P. Markowitz is Associate Professor of Political Science and Director of the Hollybush Institute at Rowan University. He specializes in the study of state failure, social movements, and post-Soviet politics. Markowitz is author of State Erosion: Unlootable Resources and Unruly Elites in Central Asia (Cornell University Press, 2013) as well as articles in Comparative Political Studies, Democratization, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Demokratizatsiya, and Central Asian Survey. His current research explores anti-immigrant movements in Russia and local violence in Central Asia. Markowitz received his B.A. from State University of New York-Oneonta in 1992, his M.A. from American University in 1998, and his Ph.D from University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2005. His research has been supported by the Fulbright Commission, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Social Science Research Council, International Research and Exchanges Board, and National Council for Eurasian and East European Research.


Jason

Dr. Anne Pluta
Asst. Professor of Political Science
856-256-4061
pluta@rowan.edu

Anne earned her Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of California, Santa Barbara. She also has a M.A. in History from West Chester University. Her primary research interests are the American presidency, political communication and the media. In addition, Anne is interested in the methodological challenges involved in doing historical research in political science. Her work has appeared in Presidential Studies Quarterly and Congress and the Presidency. Currently, Anne is working on a book manuscript tentatively titled The Evolution of Popular Presidential Communication: Opportunities and Incentives from George Washington to Barack Obama.


Katrinka

Dr. Katrinka C. Somdahl-Sands
Asst. Professor of Political Science
856-256-4816
somdahl-sands@rowan.edu

Katrinka Somdahl-Sands is an Assistant Professor of Political Science and is the Coordinator for the New Jersey Geographic Alliance. She is a political geographer with research interests in the spaces of political communication, popular geopolitics, mediated spaces of performance, and geographic education. Her recent teaching areas include Contemporary World Problems, Politics on Film, Global Challenges, and regional courses on Africa, the Middle East and Europe.


Lois

Dr. Lois Vietri
Instructor of Political Science
856-256-4500 ext. 3984
vietri@rowan.edu

Lois Testa Vietri began her love affair with Asia very early in life. Real life interrupted that passion as she pursued a doctorate in political science and launched a career in government and campaign consulting. Luckily she was drawn back to academe and undergraduate teaching in American politics and public administration. Fortune struck again as academic life allowed her to reinvent herself and so in the mid 1980s she came back to Asia in her teaching and research. She made her first trip to Vietnam and Thailand in 1990 and with the 2010 study group of business and government majors most recently made her 11th trip to Vietnam. She founded the Maryland Vietnam Partnership in 2001, an organization that initiated long term partnerships with government, academic, and international organizations in Vietnam. Dr. Vietri conducted the first winter-term study abroad trip in Copenhagen and Berlin for the University of Maryland in 1997 as Director of College Park Scholars International Studies. For her service to the university and to the State of Maryland, she was named one of Maryland's Top 100 Women of 1999. Lois Vietri completed a 35 year teaching career at the University of Maryland College Park in 2010. The current leg of her journey has taken her to Rowan University and to the nonprofit world. In 2011 her nonprofit WEAV (Womens Empowerment and Voice) was launched in Vietnam awarding secondary school scholarships to girls and microenterprise loans to seed women's businesses.


ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT STAFF

Majeeda

Majeeda Hason, Head Clerk
856-256-4866
hason@rowan.edu


POLITICAL SCIENCE ADJUNCT FACULTY

Thomas Arndt
arndt@rowan.edu

Kathy Balin, Esq.
Cell: 609-545-0800
balin@rowan.edu

Joshua Martineau
martineau@rowan.edu

Dr. David R. Mayer
mayer@rowan.edu

Dustin Parrett
parrett@rowan.edu

James Ronan
ronan@rowan.edu

Dr. William Schrader
Cell: 609-953-0180
schrader@rowan.edu



All Political Science Adjuncts may be reached at 856-256-4500 ext. 4631


ECONOMICS ADJUNCT FACULTY

Larry Bernstein
bernstein@rowan.edu

Carlo Dennis R. Candalla, M.A.
candalla@rowan.edu

Ethan Fleegler
fleegler@rowan.edu

Dr. Ralph Giraud, Jr.
giraud@rowan.edu

Akromah Idan
idan@rowan.edu

Dr. Habib Jam
jam@rowan.edu

Serkan Kalman
kalman@rowan.edu

Francine V. Knight
knight@rowan.edu

Michael Lacorte
lacorte@rowan.edu

Mike Leonardo, M.B.A.
leonardo@rowan.edu

Timothy Mihok
mihok@rowan.edu

Shrleen Rajput
rajputs@rowan.edu

David Rosenberg
rosenbergd@rowan.edu

Peter Rosica
rosica@rowan.edu

Robert Vaden, M.A.
vaden@rowan.edu

Andreas Alfred Verrios
verrios@rowan.edu

Kathleen M. Zarnosky
zarnosky@rowan.edu



All Economics Adjuncts may be reached at 856-256-4500 ext. 3323