Welcome to Africana Studies

Be sure to visit this site frequently for up-to-date news and events.

African Studies

Dr. Gary Hunter (1989-1992)  
Dr. Herbert Douglas (1992-1996)  
Dr. Corann Okorodudu (1996 - 2000)  
Dr. Gary Hunter (2001 - 2001)  
Dr. Corann Okorodudu (2001 - 2003)  
Dr. James Coaxum (2004 - 2004)  
Dr. Corann Okorodudu (2004 - 2010)  

Dr. James Coaxum (2010 - 2014)

Dr. Tanya Clark and Dr. Chanelle Rose (2014 -Present)


Africana Studies Council

Kelly Duke Bryant

Tanya Clark

James Coaxum

Christine DiBlasi

Gardy Guiteau

Kit Holder

Sandy Joy

JT Mills

Harold Lucius

Mujahid Nyahuma

Julie Peterson

Lourin Plant

Chanelle Rose

Saleem Muwwakkil

Denise Williams


Dr. Ali Houshman President, Rowan University
Dr. James Newell Provost, Rowan University
Dr. Cindi Vitto Dean, College of Humanities & Social Sciences