Skip Navigation

College of Science & Mathematics

The Dean's Message

As we enter our second year as a research university, our College continues to demonstrate its excellence through increased research activities and grants, in addition to outstanding faculty accomplishments.

     I am happy to report that a number of CSM faculty members received tenure and promotions this year. Acquiring tenure is Tom Dinzeo (Psychology), and Subash Jonnalagadda and Lei Yu (Chemistry/Biochemistry). Tom and Subash, along with Tricia Yurak (Psychology), have also been promoted to Associate Professor roles. Earning rank of Full Professor are Marlena Herman (Mathematics), David Klassen and Michael Lim (Physics/Astronomy). My heartfelt congratulations to a well-deserved group of talented and dedicated individuals whom I am proud to work with.

     The New Year also brings changes within the Dean's Office, effective January 1.  Dr. Tricia Yurak will become the new Associate Dean for the College. Dr. Courtney Richmond will be joining the team as Assistant Dean for Undergraduate and Graduate Students, serving part-time in this role, and remaining a faculty member in the Department of Biology. 

     This semester our College introduced 13 new, full-time, tenure-track faculty - an all time high figure at the College level.  New faculty includes Matthew Bealor and Mara Robu (Biological Sciences), Gustavo Moura-Letts, Behrooz Nazer, Chun Wu and Michael Tolocka (Chemistry/Biochemistry), Nasrine Bendjilali, Bethany Gummo and Ik Jae Lee (Mathematics), Anthony Angelow and Dawn Specht (Nursing), Kelly Trevino and Eve Sledjeski (Psychology).

     Taking the well-earned road to retirement in August was Janet Cahill (Psychology).  Joining Cahill in 2014 will be Lois Strauss (Psychology), Joel Crichlow (Computer Science), and Clarence Howe (Mathematics). I wish them all good health and happiness in their new ventures and thank them for their many years of service to the University.

     In summer and fall of 2013, our College has been awarded over $1.1M in grants from both government agencies and industry.  With many proposals submitted and pending, this figure will only expand further and showcase our College as a major contributor to research at Rowan. 

     Our curriculum is expanding to support the new public health and health sciences initiatives recently mandated by the State. We are currently in the process of developing a Ph.D. program in Clinical Psychology (with a specialization in Health Psychology) and a concentration in Neuroscience, as well as specializations in Cyber Security and Mobile Computing.  The new M.S. in Health Data Analytics program will be submitted to the Board of Trustees for approval in March. A B.S. in Biophysics recently was approved by the Board of Trustees and is now pending approval by the State of New Jersey. We are also working on innovative collaborative programs with Rowan Univerity School of Osteopathic Medicine's Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (RowanSOM GSBS) with two accelerated degrees of 3.5 years at Rowan, and 1.5 years at GSBS. One program is a B.S. in Biochemistry+MS in Molecular Biology, and the other is a B.S. in Biochemistry+MS in Molecular Pathology and Immunology. Also going through the curriculum process is the post-baccalaureate in pre-health studies, a concentration in pre-med studies, and a concentration in pre-health studies.

     All of these remarkable endeavors are the result of the immense efforts from our exceptional faculty and staff, for which I express my deep appreciation for their dedication, hard work and accomplishments!