Skip Navigation

Leadership Rowan

Emerging Leaders Conference

[ 2012 | 2011 ]

2012 Rowan University Emerging Leaders Conference
Saturday, March 31, 2012
11 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Chamberlain Student Center

The theme of this year's conference is "Leadership & Change." Effective leaders must navigate continuous change in their organizations, and also advocate for organizational changes when needed. As part of this theme, officer transition workshops for SGA organizations will be offered during the breakout sessions.

Download the program of events booklet

Conference Schedule

11 - 11:15 a.m.RegistrationEynon Ballroom Foyer, Chamberlain Student Center
11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.Keynote SpeakerEynon Ballroom, Chamberlain Student Center
12:15 - 1:15 p.m.LunchOn your own
1:30 - 2:20 p.m.Breakout sessions IChamberlain Student Center Eynon Ballroom, rooms 221, 129, 144
2:30 - 3:20 p.m.Breakout sessions IIChamberlain Student Center rooms 221, 129, 144
3:20 - 3:30 p.m.Refreshment BreakEynon Ballroom Foyer, Chamberlain Student Center
3:30 - 4:30 p.m.Celebrating Leadership AwardsEynon Ballroom, Chamberlain Student Center

Keynote Speaker

Dr. Jay Chaskes,
Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Professor Emeritus Chaskes will share his personal experiences and sociological perspectives on leadership, activism & advocacy, and organizational change from his 40+ years of experience in higher education.

Jay Chaskes is Professor Emeritus of Sociology having taught at Glassboro State/Rowan University for 42 years. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Toledo (1964) and his MA and PhD in sociology from Temple University in 1979.

Among other courses, he taught undergraduate and graduate courses in higher education. His major areas of research interest included leadership and change in higher education, the micro politics of academic organizations, and issues of learning and student identity transformation. Very much a campus activist, he served in the University Senate for over 30 years in many leadership capacities as well as serving on or chairing numerous university-wide committees.

1:30 - 2:20 p.m. Breakout Sessions

Student Leadership Panel (Eynon Ballroom, Chamberlain Student Center)
Stephanie Ackerman, Sabrina LoBue, Deepak Kumar, Louiza Ouazzi, Zil Patel, Anthony Reid, Kevin Shields, Brandon Thomas, and Allison Wedell
Successful student leaders will share their path to leadership, what has enabled their contributions, and offer advice for emerging leaders.

Student Government Association Officer Transition Workshop (221 Student Center)
Kiley McCulloch
This workshop will help SGA clubs and organizations create a foundation for transitioning executive board members for the upcoming academic year. SGA will be providing crucial information regarding SGA policies and procedures, as well as, material and advice to ensure a smooth transition for new executive board members of clubs and organizations.

2:30 - 3:20 p.m. Breakout Sessions

Personal values and leadership (Eynon Ballroom, Chamberlain Student Center)
Stephanie Martin and Stephanie Pharo
As a student leader, what is your preferred leadership style? What values are reflected in your actions, leadership style, or even your student organization? Explore your values and leadership styles in this interactive presentation.

Student Government Association Treasurers Workshop (221 Student Center)
Thomas Austin
Learn how to appropriately manage Student Government Association funds allotted to clubs following University policies and procedures.
Attendance and participation at this workshop fulfills the Treasurers Workshop requirement for new SGA club treasurers!


Celebrating Leadership Award Recipients

Thomas E. Robinson Leadership Award - University MedallionRobert Taclan
Robert D. Bole Humanitarian Award - University MedallionKiley McCulloch
Distinguished Senior Award - University MedallionStephanie Ackerman
Kathleen M. Murry Academic Excellence and Service Award - University MedallionAllison Wedell
James M. Lynch, Jr. Courage in Adversity Award - University MedallionKatherine E. Roberts
Earl W. Hinton and Dolores Copeland Award for Volunteerism - University MedallionAndrew Montanez
Legacy AwardKelly Barb
Outstanding Student LeaderJaclyn Halm
Outstanding Student OrganizationGay-Straight Alliance
Outstanding Student OrganizationPhi Kappa Psi
Program of the YearGay-Straight Alliance - The Rocky Horror Picture Show
Program of the YearRIRSA - Fall 5k to Benefit Special Olympics & Unified Sports
Tapestry AwardAbdulla Al-Obaidi
Tapestry AwardDr. Jay Chaskes
Advisor of the YearLarry Litwin
Outstanding New MemberKeith Lotter