Rec Center

Rec Center NIRSA Conference 2012



The 2012 Tina Pinocci Alumnus Award goes to:

Mike Husted '06- Currently at The University of Central Florida

Past Winners

2011: Tom Deus '04- Currently at The University of Georgia

2010: Ryan Fitzpatrick '04- Currently at Sonoma State University

2009: Dave Hagedorn '00 - Currently at SIU-Edwardsville

2008: Gary Baker '04 - Currently at Rowan University

2007: Jeanine Dowd '03 - Currently at Rowan University

2006: Constantine Alexakos '03 - Currently at Rowan University

2005: Melanie Alverio '98 - Currently at Rowan University

2004: Laurie Dwyer '95 - Currently at Rowan University

2012 NIRSA National Conference

The 2012 NIRSA National Conference was held in Tampa, FL with over 2,000 attendees. The Rowan Rec Center and RIRSA sent 5 professional staff, three graduate assistants, and nine students.

Several students that attended the conference were able to obtain graduate assistantships and continue in the growing field of campus recreation. Congratulations to these students:


Cory Brelsford - GA for Sport Clubs & Youth Programs at Old Dominion University

Tom Dougherty- GA for Intramurals at SIUE

Alicia Finely- GA for Fitness and Wellness at Idaho University

Beth Goldenberg- GA for Sport Clubs at The University of Georgia

Andrew Havrisko- GA for Intramurals & Club Sports at Ole Miss

Chrissy Seel- GA for Intramurals at Ohio University

Keith Wenrich Recreation Scholarship

Gary Baker '04 established a scholarship to reward a current Rowan NIRSA student for funding for the National Conference. The scholarship was developed by Gary for these reasons:

"I think it is important for us to keep an open network for the students looking to enter the field, so we can help them achieve their goals. Rowan has developed quite a name within NIRSA for putting quality student leaders in positions at other colleges. "

Congratulations to Marcus Thompson for being selected for the third annual Keith Wenrich Recreation Scholarship!

2012 Award Winner: Alicia Finely

2011 Keith Wenrich Recreation Scholarship Recipient:
Marcus Thompson (GA @ ETSU)

2010 Keith Wenrich Recreation Scholarship Recipient:
Mark Paul (GA @ University of West Florida)

2009 Keith Wenrich Recreation Scholarship Recipient:
Christine Hackman (GA @ University of Alabama)

2008 Keith Wenrich Recreation Scholarship Recipient:
Matt Graifer (GA @ SIU-Edwardsville)

If you would like to contribute to the Keith Wenrich Recreation Scholarship Fund go to:

In the section for gift designation, check "other" and then there is a box below to type in Keith Wenrich Recreation Scholarship.